United & Me

As a first post, I thought I would talk about my history of being a Manchester United fan.

I have been a Manchester United fan for as long as I can remember. My family is predominantly United fans and I grew up 30 minutes away from Old Trafford and attended my first game in 1993 when I was 5 years old. I still have the memories of standing on my seat so I could watch the game over the heads of the people in front of me, my dad telling me not to repeat the words I was hearing when I got home and the first time I attended a game against Leeds and seeing inflatable sheep being thrown around and being confused…but I soon learnt what it meant.

As I have grown my passion for United has not changed and I still enjoy watching my team as much as I did when I was a child. I was never blessed as a good footballer, I always saw myself as a Gary Neville, not the most talented but worked hard to make up for it…thats probably why I spent most of my time trying to be a full back, yet spent more time left back on the bench than on the pitch.

I, like most United fans, have found the past couple of years painful to watch, not because we haven’t been winning as many competitions as we have in the past but because the club has changed from what it was. As someone who scoffed when I was sat in Old Trafford and watched a presentation to announce Epson as our official office equipment provider it, probably later than some, struck me that the football club I love, is now more focused on business than on the pitch. I suppose the business is what makes sure the club can go out and bring in Zlatan and Pogba whilst not being in the Champions League….but I still believe players want to play for United because of the history of the club rather than the amount of money we can pay…call me naive.

I will spend my time on here writing about United, giving my views about what is going on both on and off the pitch. I will also be giving my opinions on the state of the game as well giving updates on the Premier League, the Europa League and the League Cup.

Anyways, I will get into all of this in more detail in the future. As this is my first blog ever…and I am not even sure if what I am writing makes sense…so please be gentle.

Leave a Reply

